About Us

About Yass FM

Yass FM 100.3 is Yass Valley’s local community radio station, staffed by volunteers. Listen in for great music, news, weather and information on what is happening around Yass Valley. The community Diary is broadcast at 5:30pm each evening.
Yass FM – The Start August 1998 A public meeting was called in August 1998 to help gauge interest in a community radio station. Approx 20 people, representing various organisations attended. At a subsequent meeting a steering committee was formed which undertook the task of surveying the local community to further ‘test the waters’ of support. December 1998 A public meeting was held to establish the Yass Community Radio, on the 3rd December, and a committee was formally elected the constitution was formulated.
The original election results were 
President: Brian Millett 
V President: Geoff Frost 
Secretary: Dorothy Horsman 
Treasurer: Warren Williams 
Committee: David Maher 
Committee: Robert Groves 
Committee: Cherie Carey 
Committee: David Croker
Committee: Peter Faulkner 

Feb 1999 Yass FM conducted a test broadcast for one week May 1999 The Association becomes an Incorporated Association. June 1999 Press Release The announcement was made on Friday 18th June, by the Australian Broadcasting Authority that Yass was to receive one of three new community radio licences to be granted in the Canberra Region. The other two licences will go to Tuggeranong and Queanbeyan. The frequency allocated to Yass is 100.3 FM. June 1999 – July 2002 Yass FM continuous broadcast under a Temporary Community Broadcasting Licence July 1999 Yass FM applied for membership of the Community Broadcasting Association o Australia July 2002 15th July Yass FM applied for a community broadcasting licence.
April 2003 On the 15th July 2003 Yass FM received the permanent Broadcasters licence. Also the listening area now extends from north Canberra to the west of Goulburn, to Harden, Wee Jasper and just east of Jugiong. February 2012 is now in its 12th year of Broadcasting and serving the Local Community, with approximately 40 volunteer Presenters, on Air 14 hours a day, 7 Days a week and with a theme of “Your Voice in the Valley”

Current Board 2016 - 2017

Patron- Brian Millett
President- Jan Wilson
Vice President - Nick Whiting
Secretary - Alf Atkin
Treasurer- David Cassidy
Station Manager- Richard Wilson
Programme Manager - Jack
Sales Manager- John Good
Membership Manager - Karen Davis
Technical Manager - Alf Atkin
Community Dairy- Beth Brown
Board Member -  Nick Tyrrell

Share by: